you're reading...
Chronicles from local trains in Mumbai

Why me??? Sigh!!!

So this happens again in the local bus not the local train:

Refer to https://esar13.wordpress.com/2009/09/02/of-pregnant-looking-women-in-the-local-trains/

Today morning 8:40 am at the bus stop:

Scene 1: I am a part of the queue that is getting in to the bus. This lady (Lady A) standing outside the door tries to barge in. I tap her on the shoulder and say, “Excuse me – I am in queue” And she gives me the ‘look’ and mumbles something.

Scene 2: On getting in I see a seat available under the ones reserved for ladies. The girl sitting next to it puts her bag there and says ” This is for that lady (and points to Lady A).  I said, ‘I am sorry – but I was in the queue” and took the seat.

Scene 3: So I sit down. Looking up at Lady A, I could only stare and wonder, ‘ Is she fat or pregnant?’ ‘What if she is pregnant and is pissed off at me for not offering her the seat”

And now starts the guilt trip of not offering her seat.

Wonder why woman are not ashamed to get pregnant but are most definitely ashamed to say, ‘Hi – I am pregnant. Can you please let me take your seat?’

Suggested Solution: Maybe we should start the ‘Green Ribbon’ campaign for pregnant woman – they can wear a ‘Green Ribbon’ to say, ‘Hi, I am pregnant, I need the seat’ save others like me from the guilt trips (similar to the ‘Yellow Ribbon’ campaign on suicide prevention)

Sigh!!!!!!!

_______

Sometimes I lie awake at night and I ask, “Why me?”, then a voice answers “Nothing personal, your name just happened to come up.”
Peanuts
Charlie Brown

About Sarita

My 10,000th day on Planet Earth was June 28, 2010

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Sarita

You can enter your email address to subscribe to this and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 167 other followers

